Home Page


The New Primary National Curriculum

The national tests for pupils at the end of Year 2 and Year 6 no longer allocate a level (2b, 4b etc) as they did in the past. The new tests will tell us on a sliding numeric scale whether each pupil has met the national expected standard, not met it or exceeded it.


How will the school measure pupil progress without using levels?

As levels no longer match the expectations of the new national curriculum, schools have been asked to devise their own methods of tracking children’s progress through the school. Ofsted and the Department for Education (DfE) refer to this as “in-year” progress.

Assessment without levels gives schools the opportunity to develop their own approaches to assessment that focus on teaching and learning and are tailored to the curriculum followed by the school. The change in assessment is intended to provide parents, children and their teachers with more meaningful information about what your child can do, how this compares to what is expected for their age and what else they need to do to improve.


At Marsh Baldon there are three main forms of assessment:


  • In-school formative assessment so teachers can evaluate their pupil’s knowledge and understanding on a day to day basis. This is true reflection of where the children are in their learning and is used to inform teaching.

  • In-school summative assessment which allows us to evaluate how much a pupil has learnt at the end of a teaching period.

  • Nationally standardised summative assessment is used by the Government to judge how well the school is performing.


How will I know how my child is doing?

Throughout the year your child’s teacher will be continually assessing your child by using rich tasks and through thorough marking or in the Early Years by making observations and notes.  You are welcome to come and look at your child’s books and/ or profiles. 

This formative assessment is important.  Teachers put this evidence into an on-line tracking system that the school has chosen to use, called Pupil Tracker.  It allows teachers, the Headteacher and governors to see the skills and knowledge each child has acquired and what they still need to learn.   At parents evening teachers will be able to share this with you.


National Assessment Points

Age 4/5

Year R

Baseline test for Reception children taken within first few weeks of school


Age 4/5 End of Year R

Children will be assessed against the seven areas of learning to see if they have achieved a ‘good level of development’.


       Age  5/6  

  Year 1

Phonics check in June

Age 6/7

End of Year 2


For Key Stage 1 there will be:

  • 2 reading comprehension tests. All of the Year 2 pupils are required to sit both tests.
  • 1 spelling and grammar test
  • 2 maths papers
  • There will also be a Teacher Assessment of pupils’ writing, speaking and listening and science.

In Key Stage 1 the tests can be administered at any time during May 2016 and pupils can take as long as they need to complete each test. Teachers usually administer the tests in small groups. Teachers will use their professional judgement as to when a child should continue a test or when they have done as well as they can.

Teachers will mark the tests themselves and submit each child’s test mark to the DfE. The DfE will then decide the pass mark and parents will be told in the annual report whether their child has met, not met or exceeded the national standard. This is likely to be on a sliding numerical scale with 100 as the national benchmark. Children above the national standard will receive a score above 100; those below the national standard will receive a score below 100.

Age 10/11

End of Year 6

For Key Stage 2 there will be:

  • 3 maths tests, including an arithmetic test (a little like the maths badge tests) which replaces the mental maths test
  • 1 reading comprehension test
  • 1 grammar test and 1 spelling test
  • 3 short science tests (these will be internally marked)

There will also be a Teacher Assessment of pupils’ writing.

There are no equivalent of the Level 6 tests that some children took in previous years.

The maths, reading and SPaG (spelling, punctuation and grammar) tests will be sent off to be externally marked. As with the Key Stage 1 tests, the DfE will decide on a pass mark and parents will be told in the annual report whether their child has met, not met or exceeded the national standard in each subject. Again, this is likely to be on a sliding numerical scale with 100 as the national benchmark.

From 2016, the Tests in Year 6 will not include questions of objectives beyond Y6; similarly, the Year 2 assessments will not include questioning of objectives beyond Y2. This means the DfE is expecting more able pupils to demonstrate their abilities and understanding by applying what they know in more complex and multi‐layered questions.